The Joys (and sorrows) of Pregnancy

My first reaction to finding out I was pregnant was “OH F*CK!” the second was “I’m going to get fat!”. I was 21 years old and in the prime of my life; I had washboards abs, fantastic legs and I liked showing them! Yes, it sounds very selfish but I really loved my abs and the thought of losing them and my hourglass shape made me want to cry. But on the upside, I was finally going to get the big breasts I always wanted!

Don't focus on the negatives, always look at the bright side!

The first trimester was horrible! I cursed Eve daily for tempting Adam with the apple and bringing down morning, noon and night sickness upon me. No amount of crackers, ginger, lemons, lemonade, or any other food or medication could tame my nausea and vomiting. The result – I lost 10 pounds! Under normal circumstances, I would be happy to drop a few pounds, but during pregnancy was not one of those times. It was at this point that I realised I was in for a rough ride!

I wasn’t able to eat properly and have a healthy diet until the second trimester. I didn’t have cravings but I had a very healthy appetite. I guess my body was making up for the first trimester. I didn’t go on a special diet; I followed my doctor’s advice and avoided the usual foods they tell you to avoid while increasing my intake of healthy fats, good carbs, fruits, vegetables, water and protein. My doctor and I were happy with my weight gain so all was well.

The real weight gain came in the third trimester as the size of my stomach seemed to double daily. Watching my body morph during pregnancy was both fascinating and scary. It was amazing to see my boys during the ultrasounds and feel them moving inside me; but then there was the unknown of what to expect when they are born. I had the usual worries about labour, breastfeeding, diaper changes, bonding with the babies, clothes, furniture, everything a new mom worries about times two! And then the news came just after I passed the seven month mark – the twins were in trouble. The last two ultrasounds showed that one was gaining weight while the other was losing, and the one who was gaining weight had the umbilical cord wrapped around his neck. This was compounded by the fact that they were positioned with the smaller twin at the bottom and the larger on top; definitely a breached birth if they don’t shift soon. They had been watching it and were hoping it would resolve on its own but it didn’t. I was placed on bed rest to wait for the birth of the boys. It was hard to relax and not be anxious at the same time, as the thought of losing any of the two was unbearable. All I wanted was to get them as close as possible to the nine month mark for a safe delivery. Four weeks later, they were still in a breach position, and they decided it was time to come out and face the world. They arrived via an emergency C-section weighing six pounds each. They had 10 fingers, ten toes and were perfectly healthy. Thank God for that!

My journey through pregnancy had many ups and downs, more than I could put into this post. There were days of reading to the boys, laughing, dancing and getting to know them along with the days of amazement at my growing belly and the worries of the unknown. Going on this journey with my boys and finally giving birth, made me love deeper than I ever thought possible. What about you? I would love to know about your journey.

The twins are here!Welcome Matthew & Michael

9 thoughts on “The Joys (and sorrows) of Pregnancy

  1. Ellie says:

    Wow! What a crazy story. They are beautiful! Our birth story is posted on our blog, from both mine & my husbands point of view :).

    Like

  2. heleneb15 says:

    I had the same reactions as you did when I found out we were pregnant with our first. I was in great shape and was terrified of not getting back body back. That fear is what encouraged me to continue working out and being active during my pregnancy.

    Pregnant at 21 with twins could not have been easy. Most people at that age are only thinking of the next best restaurant or night club to go to. You are a real role model. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • ladykay1124 says:

      Thanks Helene. It wasn’t easy, there so many challenges and that’s part of the reason why i was so determined not to let it derail my plans and dreams. I am achieving my goals not only for me but also for my boys, to show them that there will be roadblocks in life but you must push forward and keep your eyes on the prize.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

