Why ruin life with a pregnancy?

That’s the question so many people asked me when they found out I was pregnant. If you remember from one of my early posts, I had my sons at a young age, 21. At that time, many persons thought I was too young to handle the responsibility of raising not just one, but two children. I remember people saying, “You have a bright future ahead of you, why ruin it with a pregnancy so soon?” It was these words and those naysayers that made me decide that I will do more than just raise my two boys, but also be an exemplary role model for them. I pledged to raise intelligent gentlemen and achieve all the goals I set for myself while in school. From that moment on, they were my inspiration and motivation to succeed in everything I set out to achieve in life.

Don't focus on the negatives, always look at the bright side!

If you’ve read some of my previous posts, you’d know I had a physically and emotionally challenging pregnancy. But at all times I was determined to show everyone that not only will I survive, but I will triumph. As challenging as my pregnancy was, giving birth and raising my boys while studying for my masters degree proved to be a completely different set of hurdles. But my boys proved to be a great motivation because not only did I put those days and nights of studying, assignments, feedings and restlessness on their part to good use, but I was able to complete my masters with flying colours in the prescribed time and ahead of some of my classmates!

I got photobombed in 2007!

As I took on one challenge after another, my sons proved time and again to be great motivators. We faced each challenge head-on and conquered all like fierce warriors. Then it was their turn to start school. Their first day was an extremely emotional day for me; the boys and I cried buckets of tears as Gabriel and I took them to their classroom. As the tears flowed, I felt sorry for poor Gabriel, who had to be consoling all three of us, but it just seemed impossible to stop. Eventually, both the boys and I got ahold of ourselves and we accepted our realities. As we embraced our new routines and roles in life, we began a new journey.

Thursday 11

During their years of school, their attitude towards schoolwork was amazing! Though I was always at the top of my class, I hated school when I was a child. My boys were different, as they enjoyed school and academics. They have amazingly curious minds that allow them to conquer their academics like great warriors. Each school term, they’ve earned places at the top of their class and have never faltered. In March, they sat the national exams called the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT). These are tests done by all students in Jamaican primary-level schools, for placement in high school. It is widely competitive as children prepare extensively for the two days of tests to ensure that they get into the high school of their choice. Again, my boys made me proud as their results came back with them gaining grades in the high 90’s and 100’s, earning each of them a place in one of the top schools in the country.

Photo Collage Maker_0q4Qy6

Today I am beaming with pride! We just got home from their graduation and man, I am proud! Matthew and Michael took home almost all the academic awards, proving yet again that Gabriel and I (in our youth) have done something right. Once again, our sons have proven to be great inspirations and motivation for me. They have shown me that not only is it important for me to do well to show the naysayers, but also for my boys to see that they too can achieve what they set out to do in life and that they too can succeed when they put in hard work.

to the world (2)

My pregnancy didn’t ruin my life, it saved my life. This post is dedicated to my sons, my saviours, motivation, inspiration and centre of my soul. They have made Gabriel and I proud parents who are happy and grateful to lead them into adulthood; congratulations on the first leg of your journey and all the best for the next leg.

4 thoughts on “Why ruin life with a pregnancy?

Leave a Reply

