My short girl problems!

All my life I have been a lover of high heels. Why? Because it gives me the height I am not naturally blessed with. I’m 5’3 ¾” and I hold onto that ¾” for dear life! I was most disappointed in my twenties when I had to accept the fact that this was it.

shortgirlproblem

Now, we all know the challenges of short girls. They are often depicted in pictures for comedic relief and I have a few of my favourites below.

shortgirlproblems

Photo credit: YouTube, BuzzFeed, BuzzFeed

shortgirl

Photo credit: Imgur, Weheartit, Wanelo

The one with the feet unable to touch the ground has always been one of my favourites. It’s hilarious how my feet swing like a little girl’s because it can’t touch the ground! (LOL!) My least favourite is the seat-belt as the reality truly annoys me. No matter what I do, it always rubs me the wrong way. There are a few other things that irk me, like the fact that my 11-year-old sons are almost my height. Also, I have to adjust the height of the car seat each time I drive my husband’s car or whenever he drives mine. I also have to make two strides to match one of my husband’s when we are walking. Even washing the car is just as much a workout as doing Pilates or yoga stretches because I have a hard time reaching the top of the car.

Being 5’3 ¾” with a husband who is 6’3”, I didn’t realize that in buying our house there were so many height-wise things to consider. Here are a few of my favourites.

  • Bathroom counters and mirrors – these are the perfect height for me, but they are short for Gabriel. So the poor thing has to bend low and strain his back when using it. Point one for me!
  • Kitchen counters and cupboards – Each time the groceries need to be packed away or if I’m cooking, my husband needs to be close by. Otherwise, I have to climb up to access the cupboards. Please note that climbing up is also a huge task as the counters themselves are rather high. Advantage to Gabriel. He gets one point here.
  • Ceiling fans and light bulbs – Of course, anything that’s in the ceiling is naturally out of my reach. Hence, Gabriel automatically gets to do these chores – so let’s call this one a tie.   🙂
  • Our bed –Each time I need to go on the bed, I have to jump on like a toddler, while it’s the perfect height for Gabriel. On the other hand, the height of the bed is a fantastic advantage for fun and playful positions when necessary. We both win, so I think this is another tie!  😉

Sigh… the life of the vertically challenged. Regardless of all the challenges, it appears that in true marital equality, where one falls, the other holds them up. Who knew marital bliss and compatibility also hinged on height! Calling all “shorties” to represent – what are some of your “shortcomings”?  😉

Leave a Reply

